Archive for February 26, 2011

A Very Potter Musical’s “Cho Chang”

Yes, yes, I know what you’re thinking if you’re reading this. Where have I been?! Well, I’ve been under a pile of homework, high school drama, a bunch of other blogs, and more. Life’s hectic, what am I supposed to do?

I’m sorry to say that lately, I’ve been listening to Top 40 music and therefore, I don’t have a lot of interesting music to write about. I mean, it’s not that Top 40 music isn’t interesting, it’s just that everyone knows about “Forget You” by Cee Lo Green or “Need You Now” by Lady Antebellum. And you know, I’d like to write about something that not a lot of people know about, or something that I really truly think is amazing, like the Jonas Brothers. (Shut up to anyone who thinks that they’re gone from the music world. Because they’re not.)

Okay, so maybe Darren Criss is an official celebrity now that he’s in Glee, but not a lot of people know that he was in a Harry Potter fan musical before his career took off. It’s called A Very Potter Musical, and its sequel, A Very Potter Sequel. They’re hilarious and I recommend every Potter fan to go watch the Youtube phenomenon that is StarKid Productions.

First of all, to those of you who are living under a rock but for some odd reason has access to the Internet, Darren Criss is an actor/singer/songwriter who got his first big role in Glee as Blaine, an openly gay high school student in Kurt’s new school. Before becoming a celebrity of Glee fame, he was already a celebrity in the Harry Potter fan community because of his role as Harry Potter in the aforementioned fan musicals by StarKid Productions. This time, I’ll be talking about one of the songs he performed in A Very Potter Musical called “Cho Chang”.

Obviously, this song is about Harry’s love interest, Cho Chang. During this scene in the musical, Harry is asking Cho Chang out to the Yule Ball and decided to sing a song to her. It’s a very sweet and cute song with really creative rhymes.

The musical part of the song is very simple. Darren Criss plays guitar and sings in this song, like in most of the songs he performs as a solo in the musical. I think that the simplicity of it makes the song even more cute. They probably intended it to be a very cutesy number seeing that it’s about Harry trying to reveal his schoolboy crush on Cho.

I absolutely love the lyrics. They’re catchy and entertaining, with memorable rhyming lines like ‘I’m the Mickey to your Minnie, you’re the Tigger to my Winnie’. My favorite part would have to be when he tells Cho that he wants to take her to Winnipeg and informs her: ‘that’s in CANADA!’ and proceeds to sing Cho’s name over and over again. It’s very amusing and it captures the essence of the musical: a fun, entertaining parody of one of the world’s most popular franchise.

Below is the portion of the musical in which Darren Criss performs the “Cho Chang” song. The song starts around 1:40:

Comments (2) »