Bondan Prakoso & Fade 2 Black’s “Unity”

Unity
I know I promised a September post and I’m nearly breaking my promise, but hey, it’s still a few more days till September ends! I was just really devastated because KSM split up. Okay, maybe not devastated but upset all the same.

Anyway, this time, I’ll be talking about an Indonesian song that I’m really addicted to right now. It’s called “Unity”, and it’s by a group that has a freakishly long name. They’re called Bondan Prakoso & Fade 2 Black. Bondan Prakoso is a person’s name, by the way.

So I’ll start with introducing the group. They’re a rock/rap group, which is really, really rare in Indonesia. There aren’t a lot of rappers in Indonesia. I only know one, other than Fade 2 Black. (Then again, I’m not exactly an expert in Indonesian music…) Anyway, the group consists of four people: Bondan Prakoso (vocalist & bassist), Tito Budidwinanto (rapper & beatboxer), Ardaninggar Nazir (rapper) and Danial Rajab Fahreza (rapper). I know, I know, the names are hard to remember… Doesn’t really matter, because I won’t really talk about each and every one of them.

I’ll just write up a little something about Bondan Prakoso, because he’s the one who created the group. He used to be a kid singer, apparently. Never heard of him before his collaboration with Fade 2 Black, though. Anyway, he is a pretty awesome bassist. Seriously, I watched a clip of him just playing the bass part for Unity, and I never thought that watching someone play bass would be that mesmerizing. You can really tell that he’s into his music. He’s awesome.

Anyway, now I’ll finally talk about “Unity”. It’s from their second album, called, well, “Unity”. Ha. First of all, let me just say it one more time: it is made out of total AWESOME-NESS. And maybe even head-bang-worthy. I may be exaggerating right now.

Procrastinations aside, this type of song is really rare in Indonesian music. I’d say it’s more heavy than most of the Indonesian stuff that are famous. I think Indonesian bands are more into plain pop music and sometimes rock or jazz. Also, the message in the song is really rare for an Indonesian song, too. They’re usually depressing, you know. Or if it’s not depressing, it’s comedy. But Bondan Prakoso & Fade 2 Black’s songs are mostly promoting optimism, and I just love that, because I’m really into that kind of stuff. For example, their latest single, “Kita Slamanya” or “Us Forever” is about long-lasting friendship. Definitely one of my favorites.

Anyway, more about “Unity”. It’s pretty self explanatory. It’s about unity and world peace. One of the lines in the song that really struck me was the one that mentioned “Bhineka Tunggal Ika” which means different but the same, and it’s like Indonesia’s motto. Or something along those lines. Sorry, I’m Indonesian, but I’m not an expert on this kind of stuff. International education and all that.

Now, for the music aspect of it. It opens with some bass, and then guitar and drums. It’s a unique start, actually. After that, Fade 2 Black starts rapping. They actually have some English lyrics in it, even though they’re not necessarily grammatically correct. But that’s just my editor side overreacting. My most favorite part of the song is when Bondan starts singing. It is so catchy! Seriously! I want to put a ton of exclamation marks so badly, but I figured that would just make it confusing to read. It’s just a catchy tune… We believe as one in time, we will be as one in mind…

If you listen closely to the instruments, it’s really entertaining to listen to the bass. Very interesting, because I rarely ever pay attention to that kind of stuff. Brunno would probably appreciate me saying this. Haha.

There’s one part that sounds kind of like some sort of campaign-type speech, and I thought that part dragged a little. Especially if you don’t understand the lyrics. You probably won’t be interested in that part. So I just wished that part was a little shorter. The bass part saved it from being boring.

But seriously, if you listen to this song a few times, the vocal part will be stuck in your head for days. That’s what happened to me, so I’m just warning you.

Phew, it’s almost one and a half pages long. You should be happy. Very happy.

Listen to it, and tell me what you think! Let me know if you want the translation of the lyrics or something.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jamie the Keener said,

    Yeah, I agree with what you’ve said. X) But at first I was like…the bass part sounds pretty…average…and then it got to that instrumental part and I was like NOW I see what Alitha means!! lol. HAHA I want to see Bass Ninja (aka Brunno) playing that!! =D

    As to the video, though, I think they could have done a little better–a little more of the unity theme and a little less of the weird faces. =P But it was pretty interesting. =)

  2. 4

    Santoz said,

    Waw.. Thx for the review and the comment bout our Song and the Video, it means a lot.., btw, I would like to introduce me my self as Santoz from Fade2Black.. My weird name but originally from my parents is Ardaninggar Nazir.. Hehehe..

    It’s really glad to know that some one put our “things” in their blog or what ever it is, it’s a compliment and it’s an honor of course.. Yea sure that maybe we are some kind of rare item in music industry in Indonesian music history, coz we’re not a band and also not a solo artist, why..? Because it’s too many similar project dat represent the same thing always day by day.
    So we decide to be another virus to present dat music it’s not always like wat u hear by now, music is so many kind of it and we just wanna make it rich by our way..
    It’s an easy way cz in Fade2Black we had a great back ground from hiphop scene to make us do our thing..
    We can wrote anything in our mind and express it on Bondan music, but surely, it’s not dat easy of course..
    We fight the industry more then 5 years to make everything looks good by now..
    So.. I hope u can get our message on the album since 2005 with RESPECT, 2007 with UNITY and the last but not least on 2010 with FOR ALL..
    And up coming hopely in 2012 we’re goin to release our 4th album.. And please, REVIEW ON IT.. heheheh.. Thx :p

  3. 6

    Santoz said,

    Good luck :p


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

