Tom Felton’s "If You Could Be Anywhere"

I’m very baffled about my reluctance to write. Seriously, I’ve been waiting for May during April just so I can write more blog posts (I was trying very hard to not write anything more during April) and now that May is here, I just have no time to write. But alas, here I am, and I’m writing. So, on to the first song of the month!

So the song I’m going to be talking about is called “If You Could Be Anywhere” which is by Tom Felton. You know, the guy who plays as Draco Malfoy in the Harry Potter movies. Yes, he sings. And yes, he writes his own music. He has a few EPs on iTunes, and one of them is called “In Good Hands” which is the EP that contains “If You Could Be Anywhere” one of my favorite songs by him. He plays all the instruments and sings in the song.

So, you might be wondering how I found out about this song. I found out about Tom Felton’s songs through YouTube, when it wasn’t blocked in China, of course. I was just searching for random Harry Potter stuff when I found a video of Tom Felton playing a guitar and singing. I liked the first song, so I looked for more, and ta-da: this song is my favorite now!

This is a pretty simple song, I guess, since it consists of only acoustic guitar, vocals and harmonica towards the end. However, I think it has a very catchy tune and it gets stuck in my head. A lot.

This song doesn’t have a very thick timbre since the only instruments played are acoustic guitar and harmonica, and I think this fits the song’s light and cheerful mood. (For once, I am actually blogging about a cheerful song! Ha!) I really like it, and I don’t think I’ll like it as much if he puts more instruments in it. Sometimes it feels really awesome listening to a really simple song like this one.

I also think that the harmonica is a very nice addition to the song. It makes the second half of the song sound more interesting and I think it’s creative. Not a lot of songs nowadays would include something like a harmonica, and being a former harmonica player (no, I don’t play anymore), this is really cool for me.

I really don’t know what else to say. Hmm. Interesting. Anyway, I’ve been trying to think of a weakness, and me being the kind of person who doesn’t really think of the technical things in music, thinks it’s just fine. So. If you have any thoughts on it, please share!

P.S. I think the song sounds so much better with his thick English accent. Hehe. Christy is influencing me way too much…

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jamie the Keener said,

    you played harmonica? ohhhh… =D

    i like the tune!! =)

    but he seemed…out of tune. no offense. his accent makes it excusable, though. not that i’m biased toward british accents or anything…but the out-of-tuneness + british-accent makes me grin. really.

    haha, wouldn’t it be funny if, in the middle of an harry potter movie, at a REALLY intense moment, all of the sudden draco malfoy pops up out of no where and starts singing that song to hermoine and hermoine’s all like ‘draco! now is not the time!’ lol.

  2. 2

    Alitha said,

    That’s true, he gets out of tune quite a few times… But I still like the song!!

    lol that is an AWESOME idea for deathly hallows!!!!!! hehe

  3. 3

    Jamie the Keener said,

    haha want to contact the director? (jk, jk)…

  4. 4

    Alitha said,

    lol, nice…

  5. 5

    Jamie the Keener said,

    …or we could just contact your favorite draco/hermoine mush fan-fic author…

  6. 6

    Alitha said,

    THAT is a very, very good idea… =P hehehe

  7. 7

    Jamie the Keener said,

    are you being sarcastic or are you serious?

  8. 8

    Alitha said,

    half-serious half-sarcastic…

  9. 9

    Jamie the Keener said,

    would you do it? lol

  10. 10

    Alitha said,

    …Probably not =P It’s not like I have a favorite fanfiction writer or anything…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

