Simple Plan’s "Generation"

SP1

This time, I’ll talk about a song from a Canadian band, Simple Plan. I heard this song on TV, in a commercial for the TV series Heroes. It stuck to my head, and so I decided to buy the Simple Plan self-titled album. I’m not exactly sure why, but they remind me of bands like Linkin Park and Green Day.

“Generation” is the reason I started listening to this particular band. The song is very catchy, and it easily gets stuck in my head. It’s the kind of song that makes me jump around in my bedroom, singing along to my iPod!

The beginning is very nice, with the trumpets. The beginning builds up to the loud guitars of the chorus. Some people may not like loud punk rock songs, but I think that the drums and guitars in the chorus make the song interesting. Without it, the song will probably sound dull.

I think that the repetition in this song is very effective. It doesn’t make it boring at all, and you know, Mr. Weinhold always says that a good composition repeats itself a lot. Some examples of the repetitions in this song are the trumpets in the beginning, middle and end, and the repetition of the word ‘generation’.

Pierre, the vocalist of this band, has a very nice voice, despite the lack of interesting texture. (Yes, I’m not going to ramble about how unusual someone’s voice is. Ha!) I think that his voice fits this type of music.

I love this song, but I think that there are still some flaws in it. Overall, the song is a little bit monotonous. They barely change any of the tempo or dynamics, keeping it allegro and forte. As I said before, quoting Mr. Weinhold, ‘repetition is good’, but if you look at it at this angle, it’s way too repetitious.

This is a song that I enjoy listening to very much, and I know people have different tastes, but give it a try and tell me what you think!

Note: Wow, it’s shorter than usual. Don’t worry, I’m just having a slight writer’s block. (Yes, I’m acting as if you actually like my long blog posts.)

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jamie said,

    Let’s do all the comments all over again!!

    I thought it was pretty catchy and kinda cool, but at the beginning I thought it was a little, well, electronica…which I wasn’t expecting at all. lol.
    As to the lyrics, I keep wondering ‘are they saying that to make us think about how we are, or are they saying that because they really are like that and are encouraging us to be that way?’
    Cool song though!!

  2. 2

    Alitha said,

    I have no idea… The lyrics are vague!

  3. 3

    Jamie said,

    hmm…true…but the lyrics are always my fav. part of the song =P

  4. 4

    Alitha said,

    Yeah, me too. =)

  5. 5

    Jamie said,

    ahhh well, let’s just hope that they’re trying to make a point…lol

  6. 6

    Jamie said,

    ahhh well, let’s just hope that they’re trying to make a point…lol =D

  7. 7

    Jamie said,

    ooops, didn’t mean to say that twice lol.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

