Jonas Brothers’ "Hey Baby"

jonas-brothers-lines-vines-and-trying-times

I felt like it is an obligation for me to talk about a Jonas Brothers song, since I’m supposedly suffering from Obsessive Jonas Disorder (OJD), so I’ll talk about one in this blog post! (Yes, I know, I sound very weird right now.)

The Jonas Brothers is a New Jersey band, made up of real life brothers Kevin, Joe and Nick. They are a part of Disney, and have released four albums, one under Columbia Records and three under Disney’s Hollywood Records. Their songs are generally pop/rock, but they also range from jazz to country, and they have co-produced other artists, such as Demi Lovato and Honor Society, both of whom adopt the same main genre as the Jonas Brothers. In their latest album, “Lines, Vines, and Trying Times”, the Jonas Brothers experimented with different instruments, such as horns and strings.

“Hey Baby” is one of the songs from “Lines, Vines, and Trying Times”. It is one of the most unique songs in the album. It also features Jonny Lang, a singer/songwriter/guitarist. He has some guitar solos in this song.

I personally think that the use of horns in this song is very effective. They give a jazzy feel to the song, which is unusual for a Jonas Brothers song. Jonny Lang’s solos also add to the uniqueness of this song.

The change in tempo from the verses, to the bridge, to the chorus is also very nice. The verses and chorus has a moderato-allegro tempo, while the very interesting bridge has a very allegro tempo. I think that this makes the song even more interesting.

And now, I’ll talk about my favorite topic: voice textures. Joe has a very smooth voice, which complements Nick’s unusual bluesy voice. They sound very nice together, and even though I personally think that Kevin should also sing, this combination of voices is very effective in this song.

I might be a little biased, but it is very hard for me to find a flaw in any Jonas Brothers song. Especially this song, since it is one of my favorites. I never get tired of this album, and I think that the Jonas Brothers have improved a lot since their first album—when Nick’s voice sounded slightly like a girl, and when their songs are much simpler than their songs nowadays.

Listen to it and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

